Tuvalu consists of nine small islands scattered over 500,000 sq mi of the western Pacific, just south of the equator. The islands include Niulakita, Nukulaelae, Funafuti, Nukufetau, Vaitupu, Nui, Niutao, Nanumaga (Nanumanga), and Nanumea.

What's happening in Tuvalu


  • Funafuti is an atoll and the capital of the island nation of Tuvalu It has a population of 6,320 people (2017 census), making it the country's most populous atoll, with 6015 per cent of Tuvalu's population

  • Vaiaku is a village located on the southern coast of the island of Fongafale in the atoll of Funafuti in TuvaluThere are 516 inhabitants in Vaiaku, according to the census of 2002, out of 4,492 for the whole atoll of Funafuti, which is the official capital of Tuvalu All the administrative buildings, including the National Bank of Tuvalu, and the only hotel of Tuvalu, Vaiaku Langi Hotel, are located in Vaiaku

One place for everything Tuvalu

Featuring unique information and insights to help you make travel plans for Tuvalu, including safety and security. Before you go, immerse yourself in all that a destination has to offer; experiences with history, nature and food will make your journey unforgettable. Learn about Tuvalu's people and culture - the flavor that shapes its music, art and stories.

Discussplaces is a new way to explore the world and see different perspectives. Find tourists, locals, experts and influencers sharing content relevant to your interests.