Albania is situated on the eastern shore of the Adriatic Sea, with Montenegro and Serbia to the north, Macedonia to the east, and Greece to the south. Slightly larger than Maryland, Albania is composed of two major regions: a mountainous highland region (north, east, and south) constituting 70% of the land area, and a western coastal lowland region that contains nearly all of the country's agricultural land and is the most densely populated part of Albania.

What's happening in Albania

  • Vlorë ( VLOR-ə, Albanian: [ˈvlɔɾə]; definite Albanian form: Vlora) is the third most populous city of the Republic of Albania and seat of Vlorë County and Vlorë Municipality Located in southwestern Albania, Vlorë sprawls on the Bay of Vlorë and is surrounded by the foothills of the Ceraunian Mountains along the Albanian Adriatic and Ionian Sea Coasts It experiences a Mediterranean climate, which is affected by the Ceraunian Mountains and the proximity to the Mediterranean Sea

  • Tirana ( (listen) tih-RAH-nə, Albanian: [tiˈɾana]; Gheg Albanian: Tirona) is the capital and largest city of Albania It is located in the centre of the country, enclosed by mountains and hills with Dajti rising to the east and a slight valley to the northwest overlooking the Adriatic Sea in the distance Due to its location at the Plain of Tirana and the close proximity to the Mediterranean Sea, the city is particularly influenced by a Mediterranean seasonal climate

  • Shkodër ( SHKOH-dər, Albanian: [ˈʃkɔˈdəɾ]; definite Albanian form: Shkodra) is the fifth most populous city of the Republic of Albania and the seat of Shkodër County and Shkodër Municipality The city sprawls across the Plain of Mbishkodra between the southern part of Lake Shkodër and the foothills of the Albanian Alps on the banks of Buna, Drin and Kir Due to its proximity to the Adriatic Sea, Shkodër is affected by a seasonal Mediterranean climate with continental influences

  • Korçë (Albanian: [ˈkɔɾtˈʃə]; definite Albanian form: Korça) is the eighth most populous city of the Republic of Albania and the seat of Korçë County and Korçë Municipality The total population is 75,994 (2011 census), in a total area of 806 km2 (311 sq mi) It stands on a plateau some 850 m (2,789 ft) above sea level, surrounded by the Morava Mountains

  • Këlcyrë (definite Albanian form: Këlcyra) is a town and a municipality in southern Albania, located on the bank of the river Vjosë It was formed at the 2015 local government reform by the merger of the former municipalities Ballaban, Dishnicë, Këlcyrë and Sukë, that became municipal units The seat of the municipality is the town Këlcyrë

  • Gramsh may refer to: Gramsh District, former district in Elbasan County Gramsh, Elbasan, a municipality in central Albania Gramsh, Lezhë, a village in northern Albania Gramsh, Lushnjë, a village in the former Dushk municipality, in central Albania Gramsh, Shkodër, a village in northern Albania

  • Gjirokastër (Albanian: [ɟiɾoˈkastəɾ], definite Albanian form: Gjirokastra; Greek: Αργυρόκαστρο, translit Argyrokastro; Aromanian: Ljurocastru, Iurucasta or Iurucast) is a city in the Republic of Albania and the seat of Gjirokastër County and Gjirokastër Municipality It is located in a valley between the Gjerë mountains and the Drino, at 300 metres above sea level

Discussplaces Where you have someone to talk to about Albania

Featuring unique information and insights to help you make travel plans for Albania, including safety and security. Before you visit Albania, immerse yourself in discussions about all that a destination has to offer.
Experiences with history, nature and food will make your journey unforgettable. Learn about Albania's people and culture - the flavor that shapes its music, art and stories. A new way to explore the world and see different perspectives. Find tourists, locals, experts and influencers sharing content relevant to your interests.