Soy Sauce Easily the closest, and most widely available tamari substitute is any soy sauce. There will be slight differences in flavour but generally I find them pretty interchangeable.
Secondly, is Tamari the same as soy sauce? Tamari is traditionally tied to the Japanese (vs. the more common Chinese soy sauce). It is a thicker, less salty, fermented soy sauce that contains less wheat (if not any depending on the brand, aka “gluten-free”). It can be used in asian and non-asian cooking to add a full, savory, umami flavor to your dishes.
Also Know, which is healthier tamari or soy sauce?
Made from fermented soybeans, tamari is often used as a substitute for soy sauce in stir-fries, dressings and sauces. Compared to soy sauce, it also is higher in protein, contains antioxidants, has a smoother taste, and is less likely to have additives and preservatives.
How do you use tamari soy sauce?
Tamari is actually a better dipping sauce for sushi than soy sauce as it wont overwhelm the fish with saltiness. You can also add tamari to soups, stews, marinades, stir-fries, and Asian sauces, or use it right out of the bottle as a condiment for noodles, dumplings, fish (especially raw, like sashimi), and tofu.